Girl Boss · Lifestyle

The Truth About Funemployment

I’m going to get a little personal today! I mentioned it last week, but I am officially ending my funemployment!

The truth is, the idea of funemployment sounds like fun, but it’s not for everyone. It’s also not very much fun if there’s no end in sight. Being someone who relishes planning holiday activities to the hour, I would have enjoyed this bout of funemployment if I knew how long I had, and how much fun and activities to pack into each week.

cdizbzhweaek6g6

I was pretty excited about the idea of “fun” unemployment when I first approached the idea. Since I was moving to Singapore for personal reasons (hi boyfriend!), I would take a three month leave of absence from my consulting job in New York.  When I first started funemployment, it was a fun escape not to be running from meeting to meeting for 12 hours every day. I was enjoying myself, cooking lunch every day… Living the Tai Tai Life! 💁

But by week two, I started to go a little stir-crazy. I think a little part of my personality is wired for the constant work! I was antsy to be a contributing member of society and I had a lot of personal hang ups about how I wasn’t being productive, even though I was applying for jobs and interviewing about 8 hours every day.

24f987455cb45e3fcc728467f4c673ddc07c24f85a2cecf42ab4c8d31b7246c1

I admit, I was probably quite difficult emotionally and mentally during my 5 month funemployment. A large part, perhaps, was that I didn’t go in with accurate expectations. To me, three months should have been enough time for me to get settled in and land a job. However, in reality, I had to leave every 30 days with my Singaporean tourist visa. Each time I gained momentum and had interviews and networking sessions scheduled, I left Singapore.

All in all, I could not be happier to be working again! Thank you all for bearing with during my funemployment and I hope to continue to keep y’all entertained with my employed adventures!

Leave a Reply

