Singapore

Southern Cravings at Red Eye Smokehouse

I love Southern comfort food but haven’t quite mastered how to cook my favorite dishes (yet!). To fulfill my Southern cravings, the boyfriend and I came went hunting for some good ole barbecue and came across Red Eye smokehouse.

Red Eye Smokehouse takes their meats very seriously and the meats are smoked for 12 hours. They have limited quantity of each kind of meat and they seem to rotate a selection of seasonal meats on their chalkboard menu.

The restaurant has a very rustic feel to it and you’ll go up to order your meat by weight. Once you’ve placed your order, you can find a table and chow down. The meats are quire tasty without additional sauce, but I heaped on a generous helping of their homemade spicy chipotle and sweet and tangy barbecue sauces!

Of our meat selection, I loved the short ribs, ribs, and wings. The brisket and sausages were good too, but not my usual favorites. I only have a minor issue with Red Eye in that the food all came out lukewarm. I don’t need the food to be steaming but I wish everything was a little hotter.

There’s also a wide selection of standard barbecue sides: burnt end baked beans, mac and cheese, coleslaw, and corn bread. The cornbread comes with maple butter and it’s perfect.

There are only a few beers on tap but if you’re there for a happy hour, they have a buy one get on free deal.

This really hit the spot with my cravings and I’m excited to go back for more!


Red Eye Smokehouse: 1 Cavan Road

It’s located in Jalan Besar which seems to be quite hip now. We’ll be going back to try more restaurants soon!

Leave a Reply

