Travel

Hong Kong Exploration: Hunting for WiFI

I’ve been in Hong Kong this week and had to suffer a very first world problem… I didn’t purchase an international data plan and desperately needed WiFi. Sure, sometimes it was to check Instagram or send a text, but I wanted to spend most of my day working on WiFi.

I almost want to keep some of these places a secret! Here’s a list of my tried and true coffee shops that don’t limit their WiFi (*ahem* 20 minute limit at Starbucks). Happy surfing!

The Hunt
WiFi Strength:
📶📶📶📶📶 (5/5) 
Coffee: ☕☕☕☕☕ 
(5/5)
Ambiance: 
wants to be very hipster and is on the right track
Address: Shop A&B, KOHO,75 Hung To Rd, Kwun Tong, Kowloon

The Hunt is definitely a new coffee shop in the Kwun Tong area. Coffee and WiFi were both excellent and the couches are very comfortable. It’s a brightly colored coffee shop and it’s reminiscent of hipster-y NYC coffee shops. I think this will become more popular and trendier over time. Check your receipt for the WiFi password.  Probably my favorite out of all these locations.

Holly Brown (Central)
WiFi Strength:
📶📶📶📶📶  (5/5) 
Coffee: ☕☕☕☕ 
(4/5)
Ambiance: 
it can get a busy and a little loud so head to the second floor if it’s open
Address: 22 Stanley Street, Central, Hong Kong

Strong WiFi and you can sit here for as long as you’d like. They have a wide variety of coffees but I didn’t taste any that were particularly bold-flavored. Make sure to grab your receipt for the WiFi password and a $5HKD discount off your gelato purchase (valid for 1 month)!  If you decide to come here for an all day session, note that WiFi is disable from 12-2pm Mondays – Fridays.

Cafe 8
WiFi Strength:
📶📶 (2/5) 
Coffee:
I was coffee-ed out by the time I hit Cafe 8 but the tea was good!
Ambiance: 
very quiet and soothing with great views
Address: Pier 8 in Central above the Maritime Museum

Cafe 8 is over the Maritime Museum on Pier 8 so you have a fantastic view of the Kowloon side as well as Central. It’s a quiet cafe so you can get a lot of work done but be warned of iffy WiFi. There’s no time limit on how long you can use the internet, but I kept getting kicked off the internet and had to log in repeatedly (I was only there for an hour). If the weather is nice, definitely sit outside and enjoy the view!

Crostini (Kwun Tong)
WiFi Strength:
📶📶📶📶📶 (5/5) 
Coffee: ☕☕☕☕ 
(4/5)
Ambiance: 
a lot of foot traffic but limited fellow coffee drinkers
Address: Shop G8, Kwun Tong Plaza, 68 Hoi Yuen Road, Kwun Tong, Kowloon

I went to Crostini in Kwun Tong that’s located in the lobby of an office building. You’ll get a lot of foot traffic but there weren’t too many people sitting in the coffee shop or even in line for coffee. The coffee was decent but the seats were kind of uncomfortable. WiFi signal was very effective but you’ll be required to log in again every 60 minutes.

2017.02.10_Crostini (1).jpgCredit: Crostini Website

 

I’ll keep adding to this list each time I return to Hong Kong! I still have quite a few spots that I want to try out.

Leave a Reply

