Travel

Wanderlust Wednesday: 2017 Planning

Where do you go to find travel inspiration? I usually follow a handful of blogs and Instagram accounts to bookmark my wanderlust, but every year, I eagerly await the release of travel destinations from the NYT and T+L.  There’s a good bit of overlap between the two lists, but I still scour both lists for travel ideas. Travel + Leisure tends to be more upscale with a good focus on food (as you would expect), and the NYC has some grittier suggestions and is more focused on cultural experiences.

I try to go to one new country every year and here’s are my options for this year:

 

Siem Reap, Cambodia

Now that I’m living in Asia, I’m hoping to travel more in SE Asia and see Angkor Wat, a UNESCO heritage site in Cambodia. Similar to Hagia Sophia this large religious monument has been through a few religious conversions. It was built as the funeral temple for King Suryavarman II in the 12th century and it is a replica of our cosmic world. The highest tower in the center symbolizes the center of the universe; an outer wall indicating the edge of the world; and the moat represents the oceans. It seems like such an interesting place to explore.

2017-02-08_angkor-wat
Credit: UNESCO World Heritage List

 

Philippines

Another Asia destination while I’m living here. I haven’t been to the Philippines and will definitely want to stop in Manila for a bit, but I’m thinking about a place where I can relax on the beach and also enjoy the great outdoors on a hike. Any recommendations?

 

Dubrovnik & Istria, Croatia

This has been on my bucket list for a few years now, but have yet to make the trip. Guilty pleasure confession: I was watching The Bachelorette, saw their trip to Croatia, and decided I had to go there too. I’m excited to see the Gothic and Renaissance churches, palaces, and bell towers and that infamous wall that circles the city. Maybe this is the year!

Dubrovnik, CroatiaCredit: Andy Haslam for The New York Times 

 

Havana, Cuba

My family tried to go to Havana last November but couldn’t manage to figure out the details in a timely manner. I’m so intrigued by this place that seems to have paused in the sixties. Havana is steeped in history and seems like a magical place to explore the food, culture, music, and people. I’m hoping to go before the city becomes too commercialized.

2017-02-08_havana
Credit: Conde Nast Traveller 

2 thoughts on “Wanderlust Wednesday: 2017 Planning

  1. We have a bucket list. And in goes all the places we want. Not always in any order since nobody know the future, we check them off one at a time and add new ones…oh it never ends!

    Like

Leave a Reply

